The SA20 is a Twenty20 franchise cricket tournament to be played in the South Africa. Here’s the schedule of South Africa T20 League 2023.

South Africa T20 League 2023 : Schedule | Teams

The first edition of the tournament is scheduled to take place between January and February 2023, with six teams based on various South African cities competing.

South Africa T20 League 2023 : Schedule | Teams

Countries South Africa
Administrator Cricket South Africa
Format Twenty20
First edition 2022–23
Tournament format Round-robin and playoffs
Number of teams 6

In August 2022, the league was formally named the SA20.

The six teams shall play each other in a double round before the top three sides move to the play-off stages.

CSA has announced that teams can acquire players through an auction model as opposed to the draft model, making it the second league in the world after the IPL to do so. 


The schedule for the inaugural South Africa CSA T20 League has not been revealed yet.

The league is currently registering players and the list of the players available will be provided to the franchises ahead of the auctions.

South Africa T20 League 2023 : Schedule | Teams

The T20 league will clash with Australia’s Big Bash League (BBL), UAE’s ILT20, and the Bangladesh Premier League as well. However, with India’s investment, it is set to thrive.

So far, several international stars including Rashid Khan, Liam Livingstone, Jos Buttler, Jason Holder, and Moeen Ali have signed up for the league besides the top South African players.


Cricket South Africa have announced the six franchise owners for the South African T20 League taking place in January and February 2023. 

South Africa T20 League 2023 : Schedule | Teams

Teams City
MI Cape Town Cape Town, Western Cape
Durban Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Sunrisers Eastern Cape Gqeberha, Eastern Cape
Johannesburg Super Kings Johannesburg, Gauteng
Paarl Royals Paarl, Western Cape
Pretoria Capitals Pretoria, Gauteng

CSK made the highest bid for the Johannesburg franchise.

Reliance Industries purchased the Cape Town franchise from the Mumbai Indians.

Sunrisers owner Sun TV Group purchased the Gqeberha (formerly Port Elizabeth) franchise.

The Durban Franchise was purchased by the RP Sanjeev Goenka group.

The Paarl team was purchased by the Rajasthan Royals.

Jindal South West Sports, led by Parth Jindal, co-owner of the IPL’s Delhi Capitals, purchased Pretoria.

By Rishabh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *