A bumper ten race program has been set down for Geelong on Wednesday, headlined by the Geelong Cup (2400m).  check out prize money here.

Geelong cup 2022 : Prize money | Winner | Who won

The Geelong Cup is a Group 3 race held at Geelong Racecourse in Victoria each year and is one of the key races leading up to the Group 1 Melbourne Cup.

The Geelong Cup (2400m) boasts a total prize pool of $500,000 and is for fillies and mares aged 3 years-old & older and is run under set weights + penalty conditions.

Also the Geelong Cup attracts a lot of interest as the winner is guaranteed a start in the Melbourne Cup.

Geelong Cup 2022 will be run on October 19, 2022 at Geelong Racecourse.

Popular lead up races for the Geelong Cup include the Group 2 Herbert Power Stakes and the Group 1 Caulfield Cup however many of the runners are Melbourne Cup hopefuls who are yet to secure their spot on the feature race.

Geelong cup 2022 prize money 

The day of the running of the Geelong Cup — a Group 3 thoroughbred horse race with a minimum of A$115,000 in prize money — is generally referred to locally as Geelong Cup Day, 13 days before the 1st Tuesday in November, on October 19 this year.

Geelong cup 2022 : Prize money | Winner | Who won

Date: October 19, 2022
Time: 4:00PM
Racecourse: Geelong Racecourse          
Race Distance:            2400m
Conditions: Set Weights
Prize Money: $500,000

The Geelong Cup has been run once a year since 1872, at which time the course was two miles long — about 3,200 meters. Over the years, the length of the course has varied, until finally settling on 2,400 meters from the year 2010 forward. It has also historically moved from venue to venue but, since 1947, has been run at the Geelong Racecourse. 


Emissary and Blake Shinn have taken out the Geelong Cup to potentially give the six-year-old gelding entry into the Melbourne Cup.

The Michael Moroney-trained runner was rated a $17 chance to win at the jump but rounded the entire field to finish a length in front of pre-race favourite Surefire.

Geelong cup 2022 : Prize money | Winner | Who won

Year          Winner Weight       Time
2022 Emissary 56 kg 2:28.50  
2021 Tralee Rose 55.5 kg 2:27.04
2020 Steel Prince 57.5 kg 2:30.36
2019 Prince Of Arran 58 kg 2:26.84
2018 Runaway 54 kg 2:28.46
2017 Vengeur Masque 54 kg 2:29.35
2016 Qewy 54 kg 2:28.98
2015 Almoonqith 55.5 kg 2:28.9
2014 Caravan Rolls On 54 kg 2:31.2
2013 Ibicenco 56.5 kg 2:35.1
2012 Gatewood 55.5 kg 2:34.1
2011 Dunaden 58 kg 2:30.1
2010 Americain 58 kg 2:30.3

Makram rounded out the placings of 2400m classic, pipping Rodrigo Diaz in a photo for third.

Before the Geelong Cup, Emissary was 31st in the order of entry for the Melbourne Cup, with 51kg.

A penalty of at least 1kg is required in order for Emissary to qualify for the two miles at Flemington.

Who won Geelong Cup 

Geelong Cup winner Emissary has all but assured himself of a Melbourne Cup berth after his dominant display on Wednesday in knocking off well-backed favourite Surefire by a length.

Geelong cup 2022 : Prize money | Winner | Who won

  Finish  No.  Horse Trainer Jockey Margin  Bar. Weight  Penalty 
1 8 EMISSARY (GB) Michael Moroney Blake Shinn   7 56kg   $18
2 7 SUREFIRE (GB) Chris Waller James McDonald 1L 6 56.5kg   $4.60F
3 5 MAKRAM (IRE) Ben & JD Hayes Craig Williams 3.75L 16 56.5kg   $11
4 6 RODRIGO DIAZ (GB) David Simcock Damien Oliver 3.85L 15 56.5kg   $16
5 11 GROVE FERRY (IRE) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Ms Linda Meech 4.05L 3 55.5kg   $12
6 12 INTERPRETATION (IRE) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Ben Melham 4.15L 4 55.5kg   $6.50
7 2 MIDNIGHT BLUE Danny O’Brien Jye McNeil 4.45L 10 57kg   $16
8 16 AURORA’S SYMPHONY Symon Wilde Harry Coffey 4.55L 8 54kg   $61
9 9 LUNCIES (GB) Kris Lees Damian Lane 4.75L 14 56kg   $7.50
10 10 SCHABAU (GER) Robert Hickmott Brett Prebble 5.15L

Protesters have targeted the Geelong Cup but most punters were more interested in fun, fashions and the $18 a win horse hurling towards the finish line. 

By Rishabh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *