The 2022 Bathurst 1000 will be a motor racing event for Supercars. Check out what time Bathurst 1000 2022 does start and winners.

Bathurst 1000 2022 : what time does start | Winners

It will host the eleventh round of the 2022 Supercars Championship. It will be held at the Mount Panorama Circuit in Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia and will feature a single 1000 kilometre race.

Bathurst 1000 2022 : what time does start | Winners

The event will be the 65th running of the Bathurst 1000, which was first held at the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit in 1960 as a 500-mile race for Australian-made standard production sedans, and will mark the 62nd time that the race was held at Mount Panorama.

It will be the 26th running of the Australian 1000 race, which was first held after the organisational split between the Australian Racing Drivers Club and V8 Supercars Australia that saw two “Bathurst 1000” races contested in both 1997 and 1998.

It will be the final time that Holden will participate in the Bathurst 1000, who made their debut in the 1961 Armstrong 500 event at Phillip Island, after General Motors announced the retirement of the brand in 2020.

What time does start

The Great Race is due to start at 11:15 local time on Sunday.

For the first time in history the single-lap dash for the Bathurst 1000 pole was called off after heavy rain soaked Mount Panorama.

Instead the first five rows of the grid will be determined by yesterday’s qualifying session, sealing pole for Cam Waters and James Moffat.

Bathurst 1000 2022 : what time does start | Winners

Because of the cancellation cost the other drivers the opportunity to improve their starting positions, there was largely a positive reaction to the decision made by race officials.

Waters admitted that he felt he had only done “half a job” to secure pole position for the Great Race but felt the right call was made to cancel the shootout.

“I feel like I have kind of done half the job,” said Waters. “Yesterday was great being quickest in the wet, it is obviously cool and you have the shootout to come but I respect the decision that was made.

The shootout for me is one of the highlights of the year, getting into it and then putting it all on the line for a lap. I find that pretty exciting and I love it.

“The water on the track was crazy and it is not really down to safety, and the drivers do drive to the conditions, but it is more about the cars.

“In the shootout you put it all on the line and it is our egos driving it and if we end up in the fence and we tear the car up and then not be able to race, so that is probably the bigger issue for me.”


Widely regarded as the most important motorsport event in Australia, the Bathurst 1000 is colloquially known as The Great Race among motorsport fans and media.

The race concept originated with the 1960 Armstrong 500 at the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, before being relocated to Bathurst in 1963 and continuing there in every year since. 

Bathurst 1000 2022 : what time does start | Winners

Last Event (2021)
Overall Winner
     Chaz Mostert
  Lee Holdsworth 
     Walkinshaw Andretti United       
Race Winners
    Chaz Mostert
 Lee Holdsworth
Walkinshaw Andretti United

Then Race winners are presented with the Peter Brock Trophy. This trophy was introduced at the 2006 race to commemorate the death of Peter Brock.

Brock is the most successful driver in the history of the race, winning the event nine times, and was also known as one of the most popular and fan-friendly drivers during his long career. He was given the moniker “King of the Mountain” for these reasons.

The race was originally known as the Armstrong 500. It was first held on 20 November 1960 on the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit in Phillip Island, Victoria, over a 500-mile (800 km) distance.

Also the race was claimed by the organisers, the Light Car Club of Australia, to be ‘the world’s premier production saloon car race’.

By Rishabh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *