Ballon d'Or 2022 : Rankings | Nominees | Who won

Karim Benzema has won the 2022 Ballon D’Or no less than 13 years after signing for Real Madrid. Check out Ballon d or 2022 rankings.

Ballon d’Or 2022 : Rankings | Nominees | Who won

Karim Benzema has won the Ballon d’Or, becoming only the fifth Frenchman to do so and at 34 years old is the oldest winner since Stanley Matthews in 1956.

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo had won 12 of the last 13 Ballon d’Ors – with Real Madrid’s Luka Modric winning as the sole outlier in 2018 – but Messi was not even nominated for the 2022 award. Ronaldo finished 20th this year.

Barcelona midfielder Alexia Putellas has won the Ballon d’Or Feminin for the second year in a row.

Arsenal strike Beth Mead finished in second while Chelsea’s Sam Kerr came in third. Mead’s Lionesses team-mates Millie Bright and Lucy Bronze finished 15th and 10th respectively.

Ballon d or 2022 Rankings 

The wait is over. Real Madrid striker Karim Benzema won his first career Ballon d’Or on Monday, October 17, becoming the second oldest player to win the award at age 34 and the oldest since Englishman Stanley Matthews who won the very first Ballon d’Or in 1956 at age 41. Here’s the list of Ballon d or 2022 rankings :

Ballon d'Or 2022 : Rankings | Nominees | Who won

Men’s Rankings 

Name Position Club National Team
1. Karim Benzema FW Real Madrid France
2. Sadio Mane FW Liverpool /
Bayern Munich
3. Kevin De Bruyne MF Man City Belgium
4. Robert Lewandowski FW Bayern Munich /
5. Mohamed Salah FW Liverpool Egypt
6. Kylian Mbappe FW PSG France
7. Thibaut Courtois GK Real Madrid Belgium
8. Vinicius Jr. FW Real Madrid Brazil
9. Luka Modric MF Real Madrid Croatia
10. Erling Haaland FW Man City Norway
11. Son Heung-min FW Tottenham South Korea
12. Riyad Mahrez FW Man City Algeria
13. Sebastien Haller FW Ajax /
B. Dortmund
Ivory Coast
14. Fabinho MF Liverpool Brazil
  Rafael Leao FW AC Milan Portugal
16. Virgil van Dijk DF Liverpool Netherlands
17. Casemiro MF Real Madrid /
Man United
  Dusan Vlahovic FW Fiorentina /
  Luis Diaz FW Porto /
20. Cristiano Ronaldo FW Man United Portugal
21. Harry Kane FW Tottenham England
22. Trent Alexander-Arnold DF Liverpool England
  Phil Foden FW Man City England
  Bernardo Silva MF Man City Portugal
25. Joshua Kimmich MF Bayern Munich Germany
  Mike Maignan GK AC Milan France
  Antonio Rudiger DF Chelsea /
Real Madrid
  Joao Cancelo DF Man City Portugal
  Christopher Nkunku FW RB Leipzig France
  Darwin Nunez  FW Benfica /

The Frenchman was rewarded for a magical 2021/22 season in which his team won both Spain’s La Liga and the UEFA Champions League and he finished as the top scorer in both competitions. He also won the UEFA Nations League with France.

Ballon d'Or 2022 : Rankings | Nominees | Who won

Women’s Rankings 

Name Position Club National Team
1. Alexia Putellas MF Barcelona Spain
2. Beth Mead FW Arsenal England
3. Sam Kerr FW Chelsea Australia
4. Lena Oberdorf MF VfL Wolfsburg Germany
5. Aitana Bonmati MF Barcelona Spain
6. Alexandra Popp FW VfL Wolfsburg Germany
7. Ada Hegerberg FW Lyon Norway
8. Wendie Renard DF Lyon France
9. Catarina Macario MF/FW Lyon USA
10. Lucy Bronze DF Manchester City
(now Barcelona)
11. Vivianne Miedema FW Arsenal Netherlands
12. Christiane Endler GK Lyon Chile
13. Alex Morgan FW Orlando Pride /
San Diego Wave
14. Selma Bacha DF Lyon France
15. Millie Bright DF Chelsea England
16. Marie-Antoinette Katoto FW PSG France
17. Asisat Oshoala FW Barcelona Nigeria
18. Trinity Rodman FW Washington Spirit USA
19. Fridolina Rolfo FW Barcelona Sweden
20. Kadidiatou Diani FW PSG France

That’s the end of the show. It was a night full of emotion, beginning with the Andrea Bocelli performance to start the night.


The 66th Ballon d’Or award ceremony will see the awarding of seven prestigious awards with both men’s and women’s players of the years to be recognised along with the Kopa Trophy (for the best performing player under the age of 21) and the Yashin Trophy (for the best goalkeeper).

  • Thibaut Courtois – Real Madrid
  • Rafael Leao – AC Milan
  • Christopher Nkunku – RB Leipzig
  • Mohamed Salah – Liverpool
  • Joshua Kimmich – Bayern Munich
  • Trent Alexander-Arnold – Liverpool
  • Vinicius Junior – Real Madrid
  • Bernardo Silva – Manchester City
  • Luis Diaz – Porto/Liverpool
  • Robert Lewandowski – Bayern Munich/Barcelona
  • Riyad Mahrez – Manchester City
  • Casemiro – Real Madrid/Manchester United
  • Son Heung-min – Tottenham Hotspur
  • Fabinho – Liverpool
  • Karim Benzema – Real Madrid
  • Mike Maignan – AC Milan
  • Harry Kane – Tottenham Hotspur
  • Darwin Nunez – Benfica/Liverpool
  • Phil Foden – Manchester City
  • Sadio Mane – Liverpool/Bayern Munich
  • Sebastien Haller – Ajax/Borussia Dortmund
  • Luka Modric – Real Madrid
  • Antonio Rudiger – Chelsea/Real Madrid
  • Cristiano Ronaldo – Manchester United
  • Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City
  • Dusan Vlahovic – Fiorentina/Juventus
  • Virgil van Dijk – Liverpool
  • Joao Cancelo – Manchester City
  • Kylian Mbappe – Paris Saint-Germain
  • Erling Haaland – Borussia Dortmund/Manchester City

The newly named Muller Award (after legendary German striker Gerd Muller) will also be confirmed for the best striker, along with the Socrates Award marking the best social initiatives within the game along with the club of the year prize.

Who won Ballon d’Or 2022

Karim Benzema has won the 2022 Ballon D’Or no less than 13 years after signing for Real Madrid. It has not been an easy path for Benzema as he had to change his style of play and prove many of his doubters wrong along the way. 

Ballon d'Or 2022 : Rankings | Nominees | Who won

  • Men’s Ballon d’Or award winner: Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
  • Women’s Ballon d’Or award winner: Alexia Putellas (FC Barcelona Femeni)
  • Club of the Year award: Manchester City
  • Gerd Muller Award: Robert Lewandowski (at Bayern Munich in 21-22 season; now at FC Barcelona)
  • Yachine Award: Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)
  • Kopa Award: Gavi (FC Barcelona)
  • Socrates Award: Sadio Mane (Bayern Munich)

Spanish international Putellas won the women’s Ballon d’Or for a second straight year, beating England’s European Championship winner Beth Mead and Australia’s Sam Kerr.

By Rishabh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *