The AFL Rising Star award presented annually to the player adjudged the best young player in the Australian Football League for the year.

AFL Rising Star 2022 : Winners, Eligibility, Awards

It was first presented in the 1993 season, and was won by Nathan Buckley, playing for the Brisbane Bears.

AFL Rising Star 2022 : Winners, Eligibility, Awards

Awarded for The best young player in the Australian Football League
Sponsored by Norwich Union Australia (1993–2000)
Ansett Australia (2001)
National Australia Bank (2002–present)
Presented by Australian Football League

The recipient of the AFL Rising Star has been awarded the Ron Evans Medal since 2007, named in honour of the former AFL Commission chairman following his death that year.

The award was sponsored by Norwich Union Australia from its inception in 1993 until 2000.

The AFL then secured a six-year sponsorship deal with Ansett Australia in 2001, that included the Rising Star award; however, this agreement only lasted the one season following the collapse of Ansett in September 2001.National Australia Bank (NAB) has sponsored the award since 2002.

An equivalent award has existed in the AFL Women’s league since its inception in 2017.

AFL Rising Star 2022 Winners

The clubs with the most AFL Rising Star awards are the Fremantle Dockers, Melbourne Demons and Sydney Swans, with three awards won by players representing these teams. 

First award 1993
First winner Nathan Buckley
     Most recent       Luke Jackson (2021)

Greater Western Sydney Giants’ eight nominations in the 2012 season is the most any club has achieved in a season.

The most recent recipient of the award is Melbourne’s Luke Jackson, winning in 2021.

AFL Rising Star 2022 Eligibility

To be eligible for nomination, the player must be under the age of 21 at 1 January that year, and have played ten or fewer AFL games as of the start of the season.

A player can only be nominated once per season; if a player is suspended during the season, he may be nominated, but will not be eligible to win the award.

AFL Rising Star 2022 : Winners, Eligibility, Awards

At the completion of the regular season, each member of the voting panel independently awards five votes, four votes, three votes, two votes and one vote to the nominated players they regard as the best to fifth-best during the season; the player with the highest total of votes wins the medal.

As the number of voting members varies between seasons, the maximum number of votes a player can poll is not consistent.

There have been only three winners who have accumulated the maximum votes in their season: Jared Rivers (2004), Daniel Rich (2009), and Dan Hannebery (2010).


The AFL Rising Star Award was instituted in 1993 to recognise and encourage talented young players in the AFL.  After each round of the home and away games, a player is nominated and at the end of the season a panel of experts selects the winner.

The winner must be under the age of 21 at January 1 of that year, must not have played more than 10 games at the start of the season and must not have been suspended by the AFL or State League tribunals during the season.

AFL Rising Star 2022 : Winners, Eligibility, Awards

Recipient  Year Club Votes  
Jaeger O’Meara 2013 Gold Coast 44  
Lewis Taylor 2014 Brisbane Lions 39  
Jesse Hogan 2015 Melbourne 49  
Callum Mills 2016 Sydney 49  
Andrew McGrath 2017 Essendon 51  
Jaidyn Stephenson 2018 Collingwood 52  
Sam Walsh 2019 Carlton 54  
Caleb Serong 2020 Fremantle 48  
Luke Jackson 2021 Melbourne 51

In 2007, the Rising Star Award was named in memory of former AFL Commission Chairman Ron Evans and the winner receives the Ron Evans Medal.

The inaugural award was won by Nathan Buckley in his first season for Brisbane in 1993. The only Magpie to have won it while playing with Collingwood was Jaidyn Stephenson in 2018.

By Rishabh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *