The 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is scheduled to be the eighth ICC Men’s T20 World Cup tournament , scheduled to be played in Australia.

2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup : Teams, Groups

Originally, the tournament was to be held in 2020, however, in July 2020, the International Cricket Council (ICC) confirmed that the tournament had been postponed, due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

2022 ICC Men's T20 World Cup : Teams, Groups

Dates 16 October – 13 November 2022
Administrator(s) International Cricket Council
Cricket format Twenty20 International
Tournament format(s) Group stage and knockout
Host(s)  Australia
Participants 16
Matches 45

In August 2020, the ICC also confirmed that Australia would host the rearranged tournament in 2022, with the T20 World Cup scheduled to take place in India in 2021 as originally planned,[8] but was later moved to UAE and Oman.

On 21 January 2022, the ICC confirmed all the fixtures for the tournament. Hosts Australia are also the defending champions.

In October 2019, it was reported that the ICC could scrap the T20 World Cup Qualifier, which would have been used as a pathway for qualification to the T20 World Cup.

Therefore, twelve teams from the 2020 ICC T20 World Cup and four teams from qualification events would advance to the T20 World Cup. On 23 January 2020, the ICC confirmed the full details of qualification for the tournament.

In May 2020, the ICC told the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) that they reserve the rights to take away hosting rights from India, after the BCCI did not secure a tax exemption from the Indian government for the tournament.

2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Teams

The twelve teams that reached the Super 12 phase of the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup automatically qualified for the 2022 tournament.

Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan, New Zealand and South Africa all qualified directly for the Super 12 phase of this tournament, based on their performances in the 2021 tournament and their rankings as of 15 November 2021.

2022 ICC Men's T20 World Cup : Teams, Groups

Namibia, Scotland, Sri Lanka and the West Indies were all placed in the group stage of the competition.

The remaining four places came from the top two teams from each of the two Global Qualifiers.

The Global Qualifiers had a total of sixteen teams; the bottom four teams from the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup (Ireland, Netherlands, Oman and Papua New Guinea), the next four highest ranked T20I sides (Zimbabwe, Nepal, the United Arab Emirates and Singapore), and the eight teams that progressed from the Regional Finals. From the Global Qualifier A tournament, Ireland and the United Arab Emirates progressed to the T20 World Cup.

The UAE won the Global Qualifier A to be placed in Group A of the T20 World Cup, with Ireland placed in Group B. From the Global Qualifier B tournament, the Netherlands and Zimbabwe became the final two teams to qualify for the T20 World Cup.

Zimbabwe won the Global Qualifier B tournament to be placed in Group B of the T20 World Cup, with the Netherlands being placed in Group A.


With Zimbabwe winning the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier B defeating the Netherlands, they and secured the final spot in Group B in the First Round at Australia 2022 alongside Ireland, Scotland and West Indies.

Australia will host the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup for the first time ever between 16 October and 13 November 2022 across seven host cities, with Geelong and Hobart playing host to the First Round.

2022 ICC Men's T20 World Cup : Teams, Groups

Group A Group B Group 1 Group 2
Namibia Ireland Afghanistan  Bangladesh
Sri Lanka Scotland Australia India
United Arab Emirates West Indies England Pakistan
Netherlands Zimbabwe New Zealand South Africa
    Winner Group A Runner up Group A
    Runner up Group B Winner Group B

Zimbabwe’s first match will take place on the second day of the Men’s T20 World Cup against fellow qualifier Ireland in Hobart on 17 October.

The evening match will be played as part of a double-header, with West Indies taking on Scotland in the afternoon fixture.

Runner-up Netherlands will join Sri Lanka, Namibia and the United Arab Emirates in Group A, playing their first match on the opening day of the World Cup in Geelong against the United Arab Emirates.

This will be an evening match following 2014 champions Sri Lanka facing Namibia in the T20 World Cup opener.

“Each group (at the World Cup) has got its challenges so we’ll prepare for Australia and the teams we are playing against and see how we go.”

By Rishabh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *